Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus

Science Advisory Board

Our Science Advisory Board (SAB) is comprised of doctors and researchers who work within the mesothelioma field around the world. Members of the SAB are expected to review and score the applications submitted for our research grants. Essentially, they are the “peers” mentioned in “peer-reviewed” research. They ensure that grant applications submitted to the Meso Foundation are evaluated through a process that is fair, equitable, timely and free of bias. SAB members are also expected to attend our Symposiums, raise awareness of mesothelioma and encourage those affected by the disease to join the Meso Foundation. They are called upon for expert opinions and advice on scientific matters on behalf of the Meso Foundation.

All members of the SAB are volunteers. They receive no compensation for their service.

Our SAB includes the top scientists and doctors fighting mesothelioma. We are pleased to call them a part of the Meso Foundation and honored they have agreed to volunteer in such a capacity, as we all work for effective treatments for mesothelioma patients.

Science Advisory Board
Tobias Peikert, MD, Chair
Mayo Clinic

Brad Black, MD
Center for Asbestos Related Disease

Andrea Cercek, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Marc de Perrot, MD
University Health Network

Assunta De Rienzo, PhD
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Richard Lake, PhD
University of Western Australia

Edmund K. Moon, MD
University of Pennsylvania

Brooke T. Mossman, PhD
University of Vermont College of Medicine 

Anna Nowak, PhD
Qeii Medical Centre - School of Medicine and Pharmacology

Sanjay Popat, PhD
Royal Marsden Hospital

Arnaud Scherpereel, MD, PhD
Thoracique Hospital Calmette

Peter Szlosarek, MD, PhD
St. Bartholomew's Hospital

Anish Thomas, MD
National Cancer institute

Anne S. Tsao, MD
The University of Texas

Kiran Turaga, MD
University of Chicago

Walter Weder, MD
University Hospital Zurich