Facebook Twitter YouTube Google Plus

Board of Directors | Marjorie G. Zauderer, MD, MS

Meet Marjorie G. Zauderer, MD, MS

Marjorie G. Zauderer, MD is an Assistant Attending Physician in the Division of Thoracic Oncology, Department of Medicine at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York, New York. After training in Internal Medicine, she completed fellowship and chief fellowship in medical oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. In addition to caring for many patients with malignant pleural mesothelioma, Dr. Zauderer is an active researcher in multiple areas of mesothelioma.

For early stage disease, she has investigated combining intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) with chemotherapy and surgery. For those with more advanced disease, Dr. Zauderer has an active interest in identifying new therapies that exploit the intrinsic biology of mesothelioma. Her recent analysis of the use of vinorelbine to treat mesothelioma garnered her a travel award to the 2012 International Mesothelioma Interest Group meeting. In particular, Dr. Zauderer participates in many trials related to molecular aberrations in the NF2/Merlin pathway. Finally, to address the causes of mesothelioma, Dr. Zauderer is interested in identifying genes that predispose people to develop mesothelioma.

Currently, she leads a large genetic ascertainment study to help identify families who have inherited abnormalities in the BAP1 gene which can predispose people to malignant pleural mesothelioma, uveal melanoma, and other malignancies.

Back to Board of Directors